#### Buckinghamshire County Council Visit democracy.buckscc.gov.uk for councillor information and email alerts for local meetings

## County Council 23 May 2019

Agenda Item		Page No
7	LEADER'S ANNUAL APPOINTMENTS TO CABINET Leader's appointments attached	3 - 4
9	<b>REPORT ON COMMITTEE PROPORTIONALITY, SUBSTITUTES AND APPOINTMENTS</b> Committee appointments attached	5 - 8





# The Leader's Annual Appointments

This report sets out the executive appointments made by the Leader for the municipal year 2019/20 to the following positions: Cabinet Members and Deputy Cabinet Members.

### **Cabinet Members**

Portfolio	Name	Key Areas of Responsibility Include:
Leader	Martin Tett	<ul> <li>Overall policy direction and strategy</li> <li>Financial Strategy&amp; MTP</li> <li>Economic development</li> <li>HS2</li> <li>Modernising Local Government</li> <li>External relations for county wide issues with Government and representative bodies.</li> <li>Communications policy</li> <li>Democratic Services</li> </ul>
Deputy Leader & Transportation	Mark Shaw	<ul> <li>Transport Policy</li> <li>Transport Planning</li> <li>Transport Operations including Ringway Jacobs contract</li> <li>Public and Community Transport</li> <li>East West Rail</li> <li>Highways Development Control</li> <li>Client Transport (including Amey contract)</li> <li>Member Development Strategy (as Deputy Leader)</li> </ul>
Health and Wellbeing	Lin Hazell	<ul> <li>Adult Social Care</li> <li>Adults Transformation</li> <li>Direct Services (formerly Bucks Care)</li> <li>Health &amp; Social Care Integration</li> <li>Better Care Fund</li> <li>Adult safeguarding</li> </ul>
Resources	John Chilver	<ul> <li>Finances</li> <li>Digital ICT</li> <li>Human Resources &amp; OD</li> <li>Property Services</li> <li>Legal Services</li> <li>Procurement</li> <li>Emergency Planning</li> </ul>
Community Engagement & Public Health	Gareth Williams	<ul> <li>Engagement with residents</li> <li>Localities strategy</li> <li>Public Health</li> <li>Safer Communities</li> <li>Libraries &amp; community libraries</li> <li>Universal youth services and community youth services</li> </ul>

		<ul> <li>Voluntary &amp; Community relations</li> <li>Equalities and Cohesion</li> <li>Trading Standards</li> <li>Customer Services (including website)</li> <li>Museums; Registrars &amp; Coroners</li> <li>Local Emergency Support</li> </ul>
Education & Skills	Anita Cranmer	<ul> <li>Education Strategy</li> <li>BCC maintained schools</li> <li>Special Educational Needs</li> <li>Early Years</li> <li>Post 16 education and training (inc apprentices)</li> <li>Adult Education</li> <li>Skills Agenda</li> <li>ALF</li> <li>Targeted youth services</li> </ul>
Children's Services	Warren Whyte	<ul> <li>Lead Member for Children's Services</li> <li>Children's Social Care</li> <li>Children's Safeguarding</li> <li>Fostering/adoption</li> <li>Corporate parenting</li> <li>Youth offending service</li> <li>Families First programme</li> <li>Residential Children's Homes</li> <li>Early Help</li> </ul>
Planning & Environment	Bill Chapple OBE	<ul> <li>Waste operations inc HWRCs</li> <li>Joint Waste Strategy</li> <li>Minerals and Waste Planning</li> <li>Development Control&amp; Enforcement</li> <li>Environment</li> <li>Country Parks and Green Spaces</li> <li>Flood management</li> <li>Rights of Way</li> <li>Gypsies and Travellers</li> <li>Strategic Planning</li> <li>Sustainability and Energy</li> </ul>

## **Deputy Cabinet Members**

Portfolio	Name
Transportation	Paul Irwin
Health and Wellbeing	Wendy Mallen
Resources	Ralph Bagge
Community Engagement & Public Health	Noel Brown
Education & Skills	Arif Hussain
Children's Services	Netta Glover
Planning & Environment	Clive Harris

Committee	Nominations
Development Control (8)	6 Conservative Group; 1 Lib Dem, EWIP, Labour & Independent Group; 1 Ungrouped Noel Brown Charlie Clare Barbara Gibbs Netta Glover David Shakespeare OBE Jean Teesdale
	Raj Khan Janet Blake
Pension Fund (6)	5 Conservative Group; 1 Lib Dem, EWIP, Labour & Independent Group Ralph Bagge Timothy Butcher John Chilver Clive Harriss David Martin Niknam Hussain
Regulatory & Audit (8)	<ul> <li>6 Conservative Group; 2 Lib Dem, EWIP, Labour &amp; Independent Group*</li> <li>Bill Bendyshe-Brown</li> <li>Timothy Butcher</li> <li>David Martin</li> <li>Peter Martin</li> <li>David Watson</li> <li>Anne Wight</li> <li>Anders Christensen</li> <li>Steve Lambert</li> <li>* With the agreement of all political groups, the vacant 'ungrouped' seat has been allocated to the Lib Dem, EWIP, Labour &amp; Independent Group</li> </ul>
Rights of Way (8)	7 Conservative Group; 1 Lib Dem, EWIP, Labour & Independent Group Ralph Bagge Patricia Birchley Lesley Clarke OBE Carl Etholen Paul Irwin Angela Macpherson Katrina Wood Raj Khan
Senior Appointments and Bucks Pay Award (7)	6 Conservative Group; 1 Lib Dem, EWIP, Labour & Independent Group Steve Bowles Timothy Butcher Angela Macpherson Mark Shaw Martin Tett

## Appendix 2 – Appointments to Council Committees 2019/20

	Warren Whyte Steve Lambert
Select – Children's (11)	9 Conservative Group; 2 Lib Dem, EWIP, Labour & Independent Group Patricia Birchley Alex Collingwood Isobel Darby Dev Dhillon Wendy Mallen Brian Roberts Luisa Sullivan Julie Ward Katrina Wood Majid Hussain Niknam Hussain
Select – Finance, Performance & Resources (8)	7 Conservative Group; 1 Lib Dem, EWIP, Labour & Independent Group Bill Bendyshe-Brown Timothy Butcher Charlie Clare David Martin David Shakespeare OBE Julie Ward David Watson Anders Christensen
Select – Health (11)	<ul> <li>8 Conservative Group; 2 Lib Dem, EWIP, Labour &amp; Independent Group; 1 Ungrouped</li> <li>Mike Appleyard Ralph Bagge Bill Bendyshe-Brown Patricia Birchley Lesley Clarke OBE Carl Etholen David Martin Brian Roberts Steve Lambert Julia Wassell Israr Rashid</li> </ul>
Select – Transport, Environment & Communities (8)	7 Conservative Group; 1 Lib Dem, EWIP, Labour & Independent Group Steve Bowles David Carroll Lesley Clarke OBE Dev Dhillon Angela Macpherson Peter Martin Anne Wight Steve Lambert

#### **Buckinghamshire Fire Authority**

The County Council has 11 places on the Fire Authority which, applying the rules on proportionality, results in the following distribution of seats across the groups. The nominations received from political groups in line with proportionality are as follows:

- 1. David Carroll (Con)
- 2. Charlie Clare (Con)
- 3. Lesley Clarke OBE (Con)
- 4. Anita Cranmer (Con)
- 5. Netta Glover (Con)
- 6. Paul Irwin (Con)
- 7. Brian Roberts (Con)
- 8. Jean Teesdale (Con)
- 9. David Watson (Con)
- 10. Anders Christensen (Lib Dem)
- 11. Steve Lambert (Lib Dem)

Thames Valley Police and Crime Panel

Bill Bendyshe-Brown (Con)